Tourist map of Serbia

Serbia is located in the South-East Europe, on the Balkan Peninsula. Serbia is a landlocked country and therefore surrounded by: Montenegro, Albania and Macedonia in the South, Romania and Bulgaria in the East, Hungary and Croatia in the North and Bosnia and Herzegovina in the West.

Serbia is the country of one of the most turbulent histories. In the 14th century, Serbian Empire fell under the rule of the Ottoman Empire and remained a part of it for almost 5 centuries. In the 19th century, Serbia regained its independence, but was soon afterwards occupied by the Central Forces (Germany, Austro-Hungarian Empire, Bulgaria and Ottoman Empire) during the First World War. After the First World War, Serbia entered an alliance on the Balkan Peninsula, and thereforeYugoslavia was born. During the Second World War, Serbia lost its independence again, which it regained after the end of the war. After the break off of Yugoslavia, all until 2006, Serbia remained together with Montenegro under the name of Serbia and Montenegro (SCG).

Basic information
Capital city: Belgrade (1.2 million inhabitants, wider city area is inhabited by 1.6 million people).
Surface area: 88,300 km2.
Population: 7.1 million inhabitants.
Currency: dinar (RSD).
Serbian flag:


Contact uses cookies to improve and personalize the content and ads. Find out more about cookies and how to opt-out of tracing cookies in our Privacy policy.