Tourist map of Hungary

Hungary is located in the Carpathian Basin. Its two longest rivers are the Danube and the Tisza, and they divide Hungary into three parts: Transdanubia - west of the Danube, the plain between the Danube and Tisza rivers and the Trans-Tisza region - the area east of the Tisza. Hungary has no mountains but hills instead that rarely exceed an altitude of 1,000 meters. The famous Lake Balaton covers an area of ​​598 km2 and is one of the largest tourist attractions in the country. The average depth of the lake is two to three meters, so the water during summer is extremely warm and suitable for swimming. Hungary is adorned with national parks that provide protection for many species of animals and birds.

Country area: 93,022 km2
Population of Hungary: 9,797,561 (2017)
Border countries: Austria, Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia
Official language: Hungarian
Capital and the largest city: Budapest (population: 1,700,000)
Currency: forints (HUF)
Main rivers: Danube River (417 km), Tisza River (597 km)
Largest lakes: Lake Balaton, Lake Velence

Contact uses cookies to improve and personalize the content and ads. Find out more about cookies and how to opt-out of tracing cookies in our Privacy policy.