Tourist map of Turkey

Turkey, or the former Eastern Roman Empire, is a country that occupies a unique geographical position, partly in Asia, and partly in Europe. Throughout its history, it has been a bridge between two continents, but also a barrier between two worlds. Turkey is located at the crossroads of the Balkans, the Caucasus, the Middle East and the Eastern Mediterranean. The area of Turkey is larger than the area of any other European country, and the number of inhabitants exceeded 85 million in 2022. In the north, Turkey is surrounded by the Black Sea, in the northeast it borders with Georgia and Armenia, in the east with Azerbaijan and Iran, in the southeast with Iraq and Syria, in the southwest and west it borders the Mediterranean Sea and the Aegean Sea. The capital is Ankara, and its largest city and seaport is Istanbul with 15 million inhabitants.

Capital city: Ankara
The largest city: Istanbul - 15 million inhabitants
Area of Turkey: 783,356 km2
Population: 85 million inhabitants
Currency: Turkish Lira


Contact uses cookies to improve and personalize the content and ads. Find out more about cookies and how to opt-out of tracing cookies in our Privacy policy.